Late Winter at the Park

After a long, cold winter, yesterday’s weather was quite literally the breath of fresh air many of us needed.  Busy with daily life, I kept itching to get outside, and decided on an impromptu photo session with Micah while Austin was at karate.  I had about a half hour before we left to gather my camera (SD card/lenses, battery) and have Micah toss on a sweater, and I am so glad we made the effort.  Often trying to get pictures of my boys is like trying to herd cats (or dogs, depending on their moods), but yesterday was one of those magical late afternoons that I know I will look back on wistfully, with a sentimental heart.

He was a king.  I was a princess, and for some reason there were a lot of poisonous plants trying to attack us.  Fortunately, a green sword and a Nerf revolver made us invincible.

HJ7A0019

HJ7A0072

This one (above) reminded me of somebody….

Mr Tickle

Source: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mr-tickle-roger-hargreaves/1100260266?ean=9780843198966

HJ7A0029

HJ7A0009

Those boots…they are actually one of the reasons for the photos.  Micah has worn rain boots more days than not for almost a year.  He rotates between several pairs and I adore it.  But he recently got a new pair of Sketchers…and apparently they are “really fast.”  I imagine when you’ve been wearing rubber boots and slightly-too-tight-sneakers for a year, that new tennis shoes really do make you quite fast.  I’ve started to see less and less of the boots.  And this mom needs to remember.

HJ7A0078

HJ7A0068

HJ7A0035 bwSilly boy!

The one below is on the playground equipment at the park (the others were on the park walking trails – so pretty!).  He was watching out of our “castle.”  Incidentally, he was also trying to save 500 million dollars to buy the other castle nearby.  Sadly, we didn’t manage to swing it.  Heehee, a little unintentional park pun.

HJ7A0027 bw

HJ7A0090

The photographer in me cringes a bit at this image below, of Micah standing in the field.  The mother in me cheers, “Yes!”  This one is my favorite.   He was telling me jokes and had just gotten me to say “underwear”  (“It’s under there.”  “What’s under where?”  He and Austin do not grow tired of this.)  Isn’t he cute?  Unfortunately, the picture was underexposed by more than 2 full stops (i.e. it was dark).  And despite what you may hear in the media, Photoshop cannot take a dud and turn it into a gem.  So that’s why it’s grainy and I didn’t bother with correcting the lens flair.   It is probably the best picture in the world, though.  Well, my world.

HJ7A0055

And this is how our day ended.  When we pulled up the driveway, Austin and Ezra were home and we ran to pull them outside to view the celestial masterpiece.

HJ7A0096

This morning I heard Micah asking Ezra how to spell some words, followed by a giggle and “I did a BIG E!”  Then he ran up to me and dropped off this note.  It says, “What about we go to the park [today]?”  I guess he had fun too.

HJ7A0104

Do you see the big E, lol?!

My older son, Austin, turned 10 this weekend.  I am eager to capture this milestone in a photo session for him soon!

About catherineamiss

Catherine Amiss Photography specializes in childhood lifestyle photography. Catherine shoots on location and serves the Roanoke, VA area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Late Winter at the Park

  1. Jennifer says:

    these are beautiful!! where is this park?

Leave a Reply

